50th Annual AMA Awards Show Celebrates the Art of Magic

50th Annual AMA Awards Show Celebrates the Art of Magic

50th Annual AMA Awards Show Celebrates the Art of Magic;
David Copperfield to be Honored as Magician of the Decade & David Williamson Named Magician of the Year

Hosted by Emmy-Award Winning Actor/Comedian Larry Wilmore & Featuring World-Class Magical Performances With After-Party at
The Magic Castle, Hollywood’s Most-Magical Evening is April 22nd..

Celebrity Guests Include Siegfried, Dick Van Dyke, Paul Reubens & More

LOS ANGELES — April 10, 2018 — For Immediate Release — The Academy of Magical Arts (AMA) is hosting its 50th annual AMA Awards Show, Sunday, April 22, at the historic Orpheum Theatre in downtown Los Angeles. After-party at Hollywood’s exclusive private club, The Magic Castle, to follow.

Honoring David Copperfield as Magician of the Decade and David Williamson as Magician of the Year [full list of honorees and nominees, page 2], the 50th anniversary show will once again feature first-class performances with a global perspective by some of the world’s best magicians—A true celebration of the art of magic and those who preserve the craft for audiences everywhere to enjoy.

The show will be hosted by Emmy-award winning actor, comedian, writer, producer and magician Larry Wilmore (Grown-ish, Insecure, The Nightly Show With Larry Wilmore, The Daily Show, The Bernie Mac Show), who is sure to bring humor to the evening’s festivities.

A GLOBAL ROSTER OF PERFORMANCES BY: Andrew Evans (U.S.), whose background in engineering and design helps him create unique illusions with a modern twist that have impressed audiences on 6 continents; Jérôme Helfenstein (France), whose spellbinding magic reflects inspiration by the artistry of mime; Marawa (U.S.), global hula hoop champion (up to 200 at once), who performs in high-heeled roller skates and holds 12 world records; and others to be announced.

WHAT: AMA Magic Awards, Hosted by Larry Wilmore

WHO: Special Honorees, Celebrity Guests, Performing Magicians

WHEN: Sunday, April 22 — Red Carpet Arrival, 6 p.m. / Show Begins, 7 p.m. / After Party to follow

WHERE: Orpheum Theatre, 842 S. Broadway, Downtown Los Angeles (Between 8th & 9th Streets)

TICKETS: http://www.magiccastle.com/awardsshow2018

Open to the public, all ages are welcome to share in this special evening. Attendees 21 and over are invited to an exclusive after party at the AMA’s private clubhouse, The Magic Castle. Black-tie attire is encouraged.

— 2018 AMA Award Honorees & Nominees —

Magician of the Decade Honoree:
David Copperfield

Magician of the Year Honoree:
David Williamson

Close-Up Magician of the Year Nominees:
Eric Jones
Armando Lucero
Garrett Thomas
Richard Turner
Andrew Goldenhersh
Bill Goodwin

Parlour Magician of the Year Nominees:
Woody Aragon
Chris Capehart
Handsome Jack
Johnny Ace Palmer
Arthur Trace

Stage Magician of the Year Nominees:
The Clairvoyants
Derek Hughes
Tina Lenert
Shoot Ogawa

Lecturer of the Year Nominees:
John Carney
Pop Haydn
Joshua Jay
Eric Jones
Rob Zabrecky

AMA Fellowship Awards & Awards of Merit Will be Presented to …

Masters Fellowship:
David Copperfield
This is the highest Fellowship Award granted by the AMA. The recipient is selected by the Board of Trustees, whose combined knowledge of the art and history of magic provides the platform for selection. Renowned magician Dai Vernon was presented with the first Masters Fellowship in 1968. Other recipients include Cardini and Slydini.

Lifetime Achievement Fellowship:
Created in 1985, this fellowship is given to a person whose entire life had been dedicated to magic, either as a performer, a preservationist or a historian. Magic Castle co-founder William W. Larsen, Jr. received the first presentation, followed by Don Lawton, Castle co-founder Milt Larsen, Francis Marshall and others.

Performing Fellowships:
Eric Mead — Close-up
Ray Anderson — Stage

Recipients of this fellowship are performers – or a team of performers – who have made an impact on the art of magic. Cardini received the first award in 1968, followed by such performers as Frackson, Richiardi and Marvyn & Carol Roy.

Creative Fellowship:
Chris Kenner

Presented to people who have made significant innovations and/or whose creativity in magic is beyond that of their peers. The first award was presented to Ed Marlo in 1968. Others include Robert Harbin, Alan Wakeling and John Gaughan.

Literary/Media Fellowship:
David Ginn

Presented to those whose body of magical literary work is both large and important to the art. The first recipient of this fellowship was Lewis Ganson in 1968. Other recipients include contemporary authors Mike Caveney and Jim Steinmeyer.

Special Fellowships:
Ken Klosterman
Peter Lane

A special fellowship is presented to those whose contributions do not fit into the annual fellowship categories, but whose contributions to the art of magic cannot be overlooked. Carl Owen received the first such fellowship in 1968. Other recipients include Ed Sullivan, Dr. Robert Albo, Irene Larsen and Erika Larsen.

Awards of Merit:
Denis Behr
Randy Sinnott
Wayne Dobson

Awarded for exceptional service to the AMA, the Magic Castle and/or the magic community in general. Past recipients of this recognition have included the Los Angeles Fire Department for battling the 2011 blaze at the club; the Skirball Cultural Center for their history of magic exhibits; William Scott Anderson for his military service in Iraq and Afghanistan, both as a soldier and for entertaining his brothers in uniform; Paul Gross for his extraordinary support of the William W. Larsen, Sr. Library; Merv Griffin for encouraging so many magicians on his TV show; and long-time AMA/Castle friend and supporter, Grammy- and Oscar-winning composer Richard M. Sherman.

About the Academy of Magical Arts, Inc.
The Academy of Magical Arts (AMA) is a unique non-profit. The AMA’s membership – including the world’s most pre-eminent and celebrated magicians and illusionists – lives by the “Magic First” creed, devoted to the advancement of the art of magic and preserving its history. Its headquarters and private clubhouse, the Magic Castle, has been an internationally revered gathering place for the magic brotherhood since opening its doors in 1963. Located in historic Hollywood in an elegant, Victorian-era mansion, the Castle is an experience within itself—a remarkable meeting spot that captures a lost era and is timeless in its appeal, having hosted generations of magic enthusiasts from around the globe, as well as show biz elite from Cary Grant, Tony Curtis, Johnny Carson, Neil Patrick Harris and Jason Alexander (all performing members) to Katy Perry and Johnny Depp. The Magic Castle was founded by writer, actor, magician and entrepreneur Milt Larsen and his late brother, Bill Larsen, Jr. Visit us online at: www.AcademyOfMagicalArts.com

# # #

Greenleaf & Associates — 323.660.5800
Vicki Greenleaf
On-site/cell — 323.573.5111

Comments are closed.